Salzburg II-Ice Caves

The last time I was in Salzburg, I went ice cave hiking at Eisriesenwelt. After hiking a ways, I took a cable car up to the entrance of the cave. As the doors to the cave opened, an icy wind blasted out, nearly knocking me off my feet. The guide told me the cave had first been explored in 1879, and the locals believed it to be a gate to hell. However, the hike through the ice cave was far from hellish, and possibly the most memorable thing I did in Europe.

This look is brought to you in the spirit of exploration.

34927_414800689423_431919_n

Ribbet collage 1

38517_414800279423_5284328_n

Get the look:

Light layers for the climb. Greens, blues, and browns to match the stunning views. Boots for the gravel trails and icy stairs. A parka to keep out the freezing air. Gloves to grip a lantern to carry through the darkness.

Ice Caves-Salzburg

Leave a Reply

